Great Value Gluten Free Noodle Review

One of the hardest things for me when going gluten free was giving up pasta. I tried every gluten free noodle I could possibly find. Some were good and some were just disappointing. They were also super expensive. I couldn’t believe I was paying 5 -8 dollars for a box of noodles.

Finally my quest lead me to try the Great Value brand Gluten Free Noodles at Walmart and I haven’t looked back since. First of all these boxes are only 1.97 a box!! It’s almost like they are normal noodles. I couldn’t believe the price when I found them. I had to try them.

15934154_10154754865781142_1490288588_o

These noodles are a mix of white rice, brown rice, corn and quinoa. A lot of the noodles I had been trying before were either a mix of two or only one and they just didn’t cut it.

These noodles tasted so good they made me question if I had bought the right ones. They don’t have an overbearing flavour like I found the corn ones do and they also don’t have a funky aftertaste.

I found a lot of gluten free noodles also leave a huge film of starch in the pot sometimes making the water a thick paste. These ones do that as well but not as much as the others. The trick is making sure you have enough water in the pot. I always make sure there is at least double the amount of water I need when making these noodles.

They do go soft and mushy quickly if you don’t watch the pot but other then that these noodles are fantastic. They also don’t do well in the microwave so if you do have leftovers I would suggest heating them up on the oven.

They come in spaghetti, macaroni, penne and fusilli noodles.

The noodles hold up to whatever you are going to put them through whether it is an oil based sauce.

15942838_10154754865541142_1073116792_o

A heavy cream based sauce. (You can even cook them in the cream sauce)

12339369_10153716569866142_7836159405190863915_o

Or a nice rich meaty tomato sauce or just a light tomato sauce.

They even held up and were absolutely delicious in a warm comforting noodle soup.

 

Now whenever I try other noodles I base them on how well they hold up to these noodles. The only complaints I have had with them is there isn’t a linguine or lasagne noodle and they tend to get mushy quick.

I hope you have enjoyed this review and if there is anything else you would like me to review please leave a comment below.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Katelin says:

    Awesome! I love being able to shop gf at Walmart. Good prices. Thanks for the heads up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

