Gluten free oatmeal raisin cookies – My tasty oops

Sometimes you just need a bit of comfort food. Something that reminds you of your childhood or that one thing that always seems to make you feel better. Well one of those things for me is baking. I wanted my house to smell like freshly baked cookies so that is exactly what happened. With a bit of a giggle fit a the end. These cookies are the perfect example that not everything is going to go as planned. It also is a great example that it’s not what is on the outside that counts.

But back to the deliciousness at hand, I  decided to make my own gluten free and lactose free version of Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.

These cookies aren’t as fluffy as the store bought or normal glutened ones but they are still delicious. (I mean I ate three right off of the baking sheet.)

What you will need for these cookies are:

2 cups gluten free all purpose baking flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup margarine, coconut oil, butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

3 cups of gluten free rolled oats

1  to 1 1/2 cups raisins depending on your taste in raisin ratios

Three bowls

Parchment paper

Measuring Cups

Baking sheets

(If you want just the ingredients and the directions without the photos I’ve put them at the bottom of this post together)

Okay now lets get started. To make these cookies I separated the ingredients into dry, wet and the tasty part. So first we are going to deal with the dry ingredients. For this I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All purpose baking flour. I measured out the 2 cups and put it into one of the bowls.

20170116_20494320170116_205253

I then added the 1 tsp of baking soda.

20170116_205317

The 1 tsp of baking powder,

20170116_205346

and the 1 tsp of salt.

20170116_205446

I then used a whisk to mix all the ingredients together making sure it was all evenly dispersed and put the bowl aside.

20170116_205618

Now for the wet ingredients. I used Becel Vegan Margarine, it is both certified gluten free and lactose free. You could use normal margarine or butter or to make it fully dairy free you could use some coconut oil.

20170116_205800

I measured out 1 cup of my margarine into the largest bowl making sure that the measuring cup was completely filled.

20170116_210015

I then placed in my cup of white sugar on one side,

20170116_210514

and the brown sugar on the other.

20170116_210728

Now to cream your sugars and margarine together. You can do this buy hand or with an electric mixer. Just make sure you get it nice and fluffy until all of your sugars are blended together. This really helps with making it even. If you see any clumps of brown sugar make sure to break them up or you will have big sweet surprises in your cookies.

20170116_211153

After they are creamed together then add in your 1 tbsp of vanilla. Again mixing thoroughly.

20170116_211246

Then you are going to alternate  your eggs and the dry mixture into your wet mixture. Adding one egg first, then half of your dry mixture. Once it is all mixed in do it again with the last egg and the last bit of your dry mixture.

 


Now it’s time for the tasty part of the cookies. In your third and last bowl measure out your 3 cups of gluten free rolled oats. I  made sure to say gluten free oats because some oats are filled with cross contamination badness. A lot of oats are farmed beside wheat fields and the wind plays havoc on the purity of the oats.

20170116_211957

In the same bowl add your raisins minus the few that were too big or too small so you had to eat them. I mean you wouldn’t want wonky raisins in your cookies right!

20170116_212226

Now mix them up, this way its easier to distribute the raisins so you don’t get a cookie with all of them and one with none.

20170116_212312

Doing the same as the flour mix in half your oats and raisins mix and then mix in the other half until you are satisfied that everything is mixed well.

 

Now making sure you cover your pans in parchment paper its time to place these sticky messes of goodness.

Using two spoons I scooped them onto the pans. What I didn’t take into account was that these cookies have separation anxiety and need to be forced past their boundaries. As you can see I made huge cookies and they were a little close. So after I took them out of the 350 degree oven after 11-13 minutes they turned into something else.

20170116_21434420170116_21440820170116_222300

After the giggle fits calmed down and I looked at my one huge cookie, I decided that before I put the next pans in the oven I was going to move the cookies over and even added a fourth pan to move them farther apart. So when you place your cookies in the pan make sure they aren’t huge piles and they are at least 8 feet apart. Maybe even try one cookie per pan ;).

So while the others were baking I was able to separate one cookie and I cut the rest into bars. Now if this happens to you don’t fret, it will be okay. A) they still taste amazing, B) you can use them for cookie bars and C) they would be heavenly as an ice cream topper.

20170116_222645

As you can see my other pans were a bit better but there were still some that just couldn’t let go of their other counterparts.

20170116_215230

20170116_224318

Eventually I was able to get some apart and make a nice plate. But all in all I’d say these cookies were a success. Even the bars were a hit with anyone who ate them.

Until next time happy eating!

 

recipe-gluten-free-oatmeal-raisin-cookies

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

