Grimm’s Fine Foods Gluten Free Rice Tortilla Review

My mom was born in Mexico, so I grew up with a lot of Mexican dishes. When I joined the Gluten Free Club, a lot of my favourite foods were taken from me. Enchiladas, quesadillas, tacos, burritos… the list goes on. But, I wasn’t giving up. I searched high and low and finally found tortillas that were gluten free. Hopefully they don’t let me down.

I found Grimm’s Fine Foods Gluten Free Rice Tortillas at Walmart once again. They weren’t in the gluten free section they were hidden amongst the other tortillas. Again I was shocked it was only 5 bucks. I mean, 5 dollars for 6 tortillas sounds like a lot but not when it comes to gluten free. Okay, now onto the review.

20170131_221651

You can definitely tell these are rice tortillas and not flour tortillas. They are thin and very fragile. But they have a wonderful smell.

20170131_221938

When I took out the first tortilla from the package I noticed it was broken and it was hard to manipulate. I decided to try heating it up to see if it gets some flexibility back. I was right. I put these into the microwave for about 35 seconds until they were nice and warm and they were pliable!

20170131_221943

The first thing I wanted to try was to see if it could make an easy burrito. So using free sandwich meats (Yes, there are sandwich meats that are not gluten free – yep they put gluten in everything.), two kinds of lactose free cheese, some lettuce, cucumbers, mayo and honey mustard, I made a deli meat burrito of sorts.

After they were put in the microwave they were a bit moist which you can see in the photo below. But, that doesn’t mean they weren’t delicious! I started doing my happy food dance eating these things. Once I got them to be pliable they held together really well being rolled up. The rice taste wasn’t overpowering, it was a nice light flavour so it didn’t take away from the ingredients inside. They do need some moisture inside because they can be a bit dry, but that is easy to solve. Needless to say it didn’t take me long to finish these.

20170131_22485520170131_224858

Now it’s time to test out a quesadilla. I love these for a quick lunch, they are satisfying and light. So I had to try it. With just a warm pan I put in a tortilla and started piling on my left over chicken from the night before, gluten free salsa, and some lactose free cheese and started the melting process.

20170204_143219

Once I put on the other tortilla I realized that not all tortillas were made equal. But, you can’t have everything right?

20170204_143334

I was so excited that the moment everything was melted and warmed I took it out of the pan and right onto the plate with some sour cream.

20170204_143959

Now for the fun part, the taste test. First of all they were still a pit soft and pliable but again held up. All the fillings stayed put. I was in heaven from my first bite. It was delicious. The filling wasn’t too much for the tortillas and they held up with to the melty cheese.

20170204_144236

One thing I did notice, was that if I would have waited more on the one side both of them would have had a little bit of crunch.  The first tortilla that was in the pan got nice and brown. (Just means I will have to try it again… shucks)

20170204_1443491

Overall these tortillas were fantastic. Once they were warm they were pliable and could be moulded into a burrito, the taste wasn’t overpowering and was light, and they even held up to melty cheese, salsa and chicken.

The only things I could find that could be improved was that the tortillas aren’t all the same size and if you aren’t careful getting them out of the bag they do break.

If you decide to try these, show me the photos of your delicious creations and tell me how you liked them.

Until next time, happy eating.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks so much for the review and we’re so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your family favourites! We will talk to our team about the different sizes and see if we can improve upon that. Once again, we appreciate your kind words and feedback on how we can improve!

    Like

    1. Amy Bridges says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read it and taking my suggestions into consideration. I can’t wait to try them in more recipes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

