Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Some of my earliest memories are baking with my grandmother. We both had a love of anything sweet. I finally decided to do something I have been fearing and converted one of our recipes to a gluten free one. I needed some comfort and baking and my grandmother are what used to do that. So I brought some of that back.

I decided to stick with something simple. I chose to convert our Smartie Cookie recipe into a gluten free chocolate chip one since I can’t have Smarties anymore. (I know I was upset about them being filled with gluten too)

So here it is. I hope you enjoy these fluffy gluten free pieces of comfort.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups of sweet white rice flour

3/4  cup of potato starch

1 tsp xantham gum

1 cup margarine

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

3 tsp baking powder

1 cup chocolate chips

 

These cookies are really simple to make they just take one bowl. First you are going to take your brown and white sugars.

20170306_004549

Once all your sugar is in the bowl add in your margarine and cream them all together until the mixture is nice and fluffy. You can do this in a mixer or by hand. (Because I decided to make them at 2 in the morning I did it by hand.)

Once its all creamed together thats when you are going to add in the vanilla and your two eggs. Making sure to mix it all in completely.

20170306_005307

After all your wet ingredients are mixed its time to add in the dry ingredients. First I added in the sweet white rice flour. It’s a very fine flour so make sure you get it all mixed in nicely.

20170306_005545

Now be careful when you add in the potato starch. It has a mind of its own and might explode randomly making a nice big mess.

Next its time to add the baking powder and xantham gum.

20170306_010152

Now its time for the fun part. The chocolate chips. I used Hershey Chipits because well they are yummy and gluten free.

Once everything is mixed in its time to place the cookies on a sheet and bake. It is better with parchment paper. If you don’t have parchment paper like me, just be sure to take the cookies off the sheet within 5 minutes of them coming out of the oven. That way they won’t stick too badly to your cookie sheet. I used two tablespoons to scoop the dough onto the pan because it is a sticky consistency. I only put 6 cookies per pan so they could expand and not invade the other’s space like my oatmeal raisin cookies did.

Bake them at 350 for about 10-12 minutes. They are going to still be white at the top but the sides will start to brown.

All that is left is to enjoy these fluffy cookies. I was surprised that even though they are gluten free they are still super fluffy.

20170306_030049

20170306_015119

Until next time Happy Eating!

gluten-free-cho_19564807_cb76783c69edf8f5b873fbe9740da7df11539e6e

Leave a Reply

