Gluten Free Rib Fajitas

Well Cinco de Mayo was last Friday, and I couldn’t let it pass without having something festive so I made fajitas. I had some left over ribs in my freezer so I got creative. It is a simple recipe that you can modify however you would like. But it was a big hit in my house. So as always the printable of the recipe will be at the bottom of this post. Now lets get started.

Ingredients

2-5 racks of ribs

4 heaping tablespoons of melted margarine or butter

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp parsley

rice

sour cream

cheese

lettuce

salsa

gluten free tortilla wraps

 

First you need to cut your ribs into sections so its easier to cook. I have this nifty pan that smokes the meat while its in the oven. I put water in the bottom and the meat sits on the top. If you don’t have one of these thats okay you can just put them in a baking pan and bake them this way.

I placed my ribs along the cracks to make sure they all got some of the steam that came up from the water.

Now before I put it in the oven I cover the ribs in some tasty things to bring out the flavour of the ribs. First I melted the margarine.

Then I added the salt and made sure to mix it.

20170506_181832

I cracked some black pepper and added it to the mix. Again mixing it before adding the parsley.

20170506_182111

After everything was mixed in I then added parsley and you guessed it mixed it.

After everything was mixed its time to brush it all over your ribs. Make sure to get both sides. Then put them in your oven at 350 for an hour and a half.

Make sure to keep the leftovers close by because every 30 minutes you need to re-coat them and turn them over.

As it was cooking for the last half our I prepped everything else. I shredded the cheese, and cut the lettuce. I coped out and bought salsa, but if you want freshly made you can make your own salsa. And of course you can’t forget the sour cream.

20170506_200557

I also made some rice again the simple way with some gluten free Minute Rice.

20170506_200819

Next it was time to take out the ribs. I let them rest a couple minutes before cutting them into strips.

All thats left was to warm up the tortillas and put everything together. I used Toufayan tortillas, you can see the review here, or you can use Grimm’s Fine Foods tortillas. There are plenty of other gluten free tortillas but these are the two I have tried.

20170506_202234

Now to put them together, with the wrap, lettuce, rice, ribs, salsa, sour cream and of course cheese!

Now all that’s left is to enjoy it.

20170506_203252

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and if there is anything else you would like a recipe for please leave a comment. Until next time, Happy Eating.

gluten-free-rib_22275283_ef6ee710f8bc773c0e6510b65ee08fbec4e66fd3

 

Leave a Reply

